Now We’re Cookin’

I hope everyone had a wonderful July 4th!  I was lucky to have my parents in town and we had 4 days of family fun.  We hit the pool (twice), the Mall of America’s Nickelodeon Universe, our city’s 4th of July parade, a 4th of July pool party, a swim meet, trips to the ice cream parlor, the purchasing and consumption of more sugar than should be street legal for my children, AND I even got in 1.5 naps— a true luxury in these tough times.  Why tough?  Because my children are working me to the bone.  I am dog tired at the end of the day with neither the physical nor the mental strength to think about writing.  I lay prostrate in my bed starting at 8pm, watching bad TV and surfing the internet for mindless drivel in a futile attempt to drive away the day’s soundtrack of screaming, crying, complaining, whining, and bickering.  It’s not pretty, folks.

But I know my readers (all 7 of you) are waiting with bated breath for my next post.  But what to write? I have all these ideas but no time or energy to put them down.  Would it be premature of me to hire a ghost writer for my non-revenue generating blog?  I fear the answer is yes.

My friend Suzette suggested that I post some recipes on the blog.  Now that, I can do.  Here’s one that I made last week. It’s perfect for those nights when you have a 45-minute break between the end of swim team practice and the start of soccer.  Make it the night before or earlier in the day, shove it in the fridge, and you are D-O-N-E.

REICHERT RATING: A RARE 4 thumbs up from Sarah, Katie, Chris, and me.  Sarah had 2 bowl fulls and Katie ate it and swallowed it without pulling it from out of her mouth in a half masticated clump and handing it back to me.  SUCCESS!

MODIFICATIONS: Even though the recipe is for Asian Bow-Tie Salad with Shrimp and Vegetables, I used chicken and none of the veggies listed.  I’m a rebel that way.  I diced up rotisserie chicken meat (whoever invented grocery store rotisserie chicken should be enshrined in some sort of SAHM’s Hall of Fame) and threw in edamame and sugar snap peas (both blanched in the pasta water), shredded carrots, diced red bell pepper, and cucumbers.  Also, omitted the red pepper flakes from the dressing.  For Chris and my portions, I sprinkled with red pepper flakes and cilantro before serving.

THE “BUT I WANT TO HELP!” QUOTIENT: If your kiddos are like mine, they love to “help” in any way in all of your daily chores, especially in all things culinary.  Of course, this usually results in tantrums, spills, and tears.  This recipe had plenty for the kids to do: mixing up the dressing, tossing the veggies, tossing the pasta, etc.  Minimal threat of them burning themselves, cutting themselves, or inflicting any other injuries that would require us to max out our health care deductible.

So here’s the original recipe from epicurious…enjoy!

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Asian-Bow-Tie-Pasta-Salad-with-Shrimp-and-Vegetables-4429

And the finished product:

2 thoughts on “Now We’re Cookin’

  1. Thanks so much for the recipe and picture too, WOW Just printed it out. You are a very entertaining and clever writer even when tired:) LOVE the blogs:)

Leave a Reply

